Personal Choice.

Hey! I know I haven’t been around much, but for the last week I was sick then my long lost friend appeared like the fog. But today I want to talk to you about the personal choice my husband and I have made to not have kids.

When we got married it was congratulations for a little bit, but soon after the infamous question was asked by everyone, ‘when are the babies coming?’ Everytime I tell someone we don’t want kids everyone seems to think I haven’t thought this through. I always get the ‘you’ll change your mind one day’ speech. It is kind of annoying. I mean, for the longest time I thought I did and honestly Robbie and I gushed about babies after we got engaged and even a few months after we got married. I mean come on, just about all women dream of the perfect picture: first comes love, then comes marriage, then comes baby in a baby carriage! But something hit us one day and we realized all the things we do like go on random trips or spoil each other and our families. Every ounce of everything we had would have to go into a human being we created.

Image

I know it sounds selfish, but I know if you ask anyone who has had children, you don’t realize how selfish you truly are until you have a baby. We like it being just us two, and our 4 dogs. We have all we need now. But we have agreed that if we had a surprise pregnancy we would be just as excited. We just aren’t ‘trying’. Taking care of a baby takes a whole new level of responsibility that we just aren’t mature enough for yet, and I personally think that this is the smartest decision we have made in our relationship so far.

One response to “Personal Choice.

Leave a Reply

